Join Our Newsletter

New? Free Sign Up

Then check our Welcome Center to a Community Caring about Sleep Apnea diagnosis and Sleep Apnea treatment:

CPAP machines, Sleep Apnea surgery and dental appliances.

CPAP Supplies

Latest Activity

Steven B. Ronsen updated their profile
Mar 5
Dan Lyons updated their profile
Mar 7, 2022
99 replied to Mike's discussion SPO 7500 Users?
"please keep me updated about oximeters "
Dec 4, 2021
Stefan updated their profile
Sep 16, 2019
Profile IconBLev and bruce david joined SleepGuide
Aug 21, 2019

What would you do in the case where an undiagnosed apnea patient was to afraid of being trapped to wear a mask long enough to be diagnosed?  Mind you this person only has an IQ of 69 and will never progress past an age of 14.  He also suffers from attacks of fear so great it disturbs his sleep and wakes or keeps him up at night.

Views: 263

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

i am not a doctor, but perhaps his sleep doc can prescribe an anti-anxiety medication for the night of the sleep study. i suppose the reason for running the test if he's going to have ongoing anxiety about a mask attached to his head (i.e., CPAP not an option) is that he might be a candidate for surgery or an oral appliance if diagnosed. 

this is a good question for a sleep tech -- they run these tests for a living. we have a few of them helping others on this forum.  let's hear from them.

Both ideas sound good to me.  I will try waiting for a pro to comment.

Mike said:

i am not a doctor, but perhaps his sleep doc can prescribe an anti-anxiety medication for the night of the sleep study. i suppose the reason for running the test if he's going to have ongoing anxiety about a mask attached to his head (i.e., CPAP not an option) is that he might be a candidate for surgery or an oral appliance if diagnosed. 

this is a good question for a sleep tech -- they run these tests for a living. we have a few of them helping others on this forum.  let's hear from them.