Join Our Newsletter

New? Free Sign Up

Then check our Welcome Center to a Community Caring about Sleep Apnea diagnosis and Sleep Apnea treatment:

CPAP machines, Sleep Apnea surgery and dental appliances.

CPAP Supplies

Latest Activity

Steven B. Ronsen updated their profile
Mar 5
Dan Lyons updated their profile
Mar 7, 2022
99 replied to Mike's discussion SPO 7500 Users?
"please keep me updated about oximeters "
Dec 4, 2021
Stefan updated their profile
Sep 16, 2019
Profile IconBLev and bruce david joined SleepGuide
Aug 21, 2019

hello to anyone whos reading this! im female 20 yrs of age :)

i want to ask a couple of questions and need informations.

cause im new to this. ive been reading about it from some websites but im still worried and still feel lost.

anyone here suffer from central apnea? what treatment have u tried and did it work?

what should get checked to rule out the causes? and can it be cured?

hope people who suffer from it would like to share.

any help would be greatly appriciated thanks :)

Views: 635

Reply to This

Replies to This Discussion

Central apnea is usually diganosed from a sleep test in the sleep lab.  The newer machines may also report "CAs", but these are clear airway apneas and without all the gear used in the sleep test cannot be with certainty called "centrals". A real central apnea is when the airway is open, but there is no respiratory effort- the brain does not tell the body to breathe.  The cause of the centrals may not be known.  They are usually treated with some variation of CPAP- Bilevel, or ASV.  We all have some central apneas so it depends on how many you have whether to be concerned or not.  Usually central apnea is not curable just as OSA is not curable, but treatable.  Many people worry unnecessarily about a few centrals, unless you are having many I would not be concerned, but would discuss matters with my sleep doc during the next appointment.